容易百家乐:在亚洲稳操胜券

容易百家乐:在亚洲稳操胜券

免佣百家乐已为亚洲区内的博彩业所熟知,它能同时为娱乐场经营者和玩家带来好处,包括每小时发更多手牌和排除计算佣金时所出现的错误。

拉斯维加斯Talisman集团的Robin Powell(附图)和Francisco Tejeda针对百家乐共同创造了一套专有的免佣系统,称作「容易百家乐」。

作为一位行业顾问,Powell先生在拉斯维加斯参与娱乐场运营管理之前,曾在南非的娱乐场内任职庄荷,从磨练中学习赌桌游戏。

在一次访问中,他向GGRAsia讲解了为何其公司的免佣百家乐对玩家和娱乐场都深具吸引力;同时解释了为何这个产品不单能应用于实体赌桌,还可应用于自动计算佣金的电子赌桌。

Powell说:根据电子赌桌制造商的研究,尽管电子赌桌自动计算佣金,但玩家并不喜欢选择佣金式百家乐,因为他们觉得每次投注庄家胜出时,其本金会被扣掉5%。

他补充道:在电子赌桌上玩「容易百家乐」的速度不会加快,因为佣金错误的问题已不存在,但玩家喜欢不目睹佣金从自己的派彩中扣除的感觉。仔细想想,这是有道理的。

与乐透游戏合作

4月9日,「容易百家乐」经销商,加拿大娱乐设备供应商DEQ Systems Corp,宣布与澳门企业家陈捷的乐透游戏有限公司(LT Game)开启跨地区合作。在这项合作中,「容易百家乐」将出现在乐透游戏全球的直播混合游戏(LMG)系统上。乐透游戏亦会将「容易百家乐」的传统实体赌桌分销至亚太各地。

现时各娱乐场已经可以免费获得免佣百家乐赌桌的一个非专营版本。

Super 6,某些地区也称Punto 2000,是一种押中庄家而庄家牌面是6点时派彩减半的玩法。正常情况下,一个牌靴会出现大约五次。但Powell先生指出在此情况下,游戏在运算上被做了调整,娱乐场的内置佣金被调升至5.88%,比「容易百家乐」高出近20%。

Powell先生告知我们:早期阶段[博彩巿场开放后],Super 6在澳门十分成功。

我们预料它的成功程度会随着玩家变成老顾客而逐渐减退。老主顾最终会发现这个游戏赢取他们金钱的速度太快。我们的游戏就不这样,且节奏更快。在Super 6的规则下,由于派彩减半而不是平手(无需派彩),所以仍会减慢游戏速度。

「容易百家乐」中,当庄家以三张牌总数7点胜出时,牌局变为平手。理论上,这种情况在一个牌靴中约出现两次。标准的百家乐牌靴正常包含八副牌。通过取消这种情况下的派彩,游戏运算做出了调整,5%的佣金已被设置在内,无需每次庄家赢牌时去计算及收取佣金。

为了补偿玩家在因庄家以三张牌总数7点胜出时没有赢钱,「容易百家乐」提供了一种赔率为40:1的边注,称为龙7。相比于标准百家乐内赔率为8:1的押和(三种结果中最少出现的),这个赔率无疑是令人震撼的。

在澳门,永利澳门于2009年5月引入「容易百家乐」赌桌。它通常以牌面朝上的方式派牌,而不是像亚洲传统娱乐场内常见的那样,将牌面朝下而允许玩家挤牌。这种牌面朝上的方式加快了游戏节奏。

百家乐数学

根据娱乐场营运专家Andrew MacDonald和雷诺巿内华达大学前经济学教授Bill Eadington所做的一份行业研究报告,百家乐的理论性娱乐场收益率,考虑进押庄、押闲及押和的不同赔率,并将佣金规则纳入其内时,普遍可接受的范围是介乎1.26%至1.35%之间。

另一种表达百家乐娱乐场收益率的方式是,每100港元(12.90美元)的投注(多数澳门娱乐场的通用货币为港元),娱乐场便会获得1.26至1.35港元的收入。

Powell先生表示,消除了佣金的计算,「容易百家乐」实体赌桌每小时的牌局数量大幅增加 - 可增加50%至70%之间,取决于若干因素,包括庄荷的技巧和培训。这令娱乐场管理层感到欣喜;玩家亦同样高兴,因为佣金错误是他们最常遇到的庄荷失误;庄荷也因此减轻了压力。

他解释说:我们在创作这个新版本时,非常清楚要达成的目标 - 可以直视玩家,告诉他们这个游戏比收取5%佣金的百家乐更加有利。

Powell先生同时表明,不管是实体赌桌还是直播混合游戏,「容易百家乐」都为玩家带来了新鲜刺激感,因为它引入的命题投注是游戏不可或缺的部分。虽然理论上龙7应该每个牌靴出现两次,但也可能不会。

Powell先生称:游戏中越长时间没有出现龙7,玩家就会越加激动,不断下注在龙7上。

增长类别
直播混合游戏,一个被澳门博彩监管机构定义为不归属于单一制造商的游戏类别,是澳门2015年第一季博彩毛收入(GGR)与去年同比有所增长的唯一的娱乐场游戏产品类别。

虽然基数较低,直播混合游戏于头三个月实现6.3%的GGR增长。相对去年同期的五亿五百万澳门元,今年的收益提升至五亿三千七百万澳门元(六千七百三十万美元)。

Powell先生称:一名[澳门]运营商说希望可以把「容易百家乐」应用于他们正在使用的乐透游戏终端上。这就是「容易百家乐」迁至乐透游戏直播混合游戏平台的开端。

很多人说「容易百家乐」是一个新游戏,像三张牌扑克。事实上它并非新游戏,而是百家乐游戏的一种新式操作系统。这是我们的看法,也是我们告诉客户的说法。

它是为数不多令所有持份者都喜爱的博彩产品之一。所谓的持份者,包括娱乐场、玩家和游戏的操作人 - 庄荷。

EZ Baccarat: A Sure Bet in Asia

No-commission baccarat is already well known in the Asian casino industry as offering advantages for both casino operators and players, including more hands per hour and the elimination of commission calculation errors.

Robin Powell (pictured) of Las Vegas-based Talisman Group LLC is co-creator – with Francisco Tejeda – of a proprietary no-commission system for baccarat, called EZ Baccarat.

Mr Powell – now an industry consultant – learnt table games from the ground up as a dealer in casinos in southern Africa; before eventually moving to work in operations management in Las Vegas.

He told GGRAsia in an interview why he thinks his firm’s version of no-commission baccarat is the most attractive for players and casinos. He also explained why his product can work not only on live tables but also on electronic table formats, where commission is normally calculated automatically.

“We have been told that – based on research that electronic table manufacturers have done – the players prefer not to play commission baccarat even on an automated game because they see it removing 5 percent from their bankroll on every winning ‘banker’ bet,” stated Mr Powell.

“The terminal game isn’t going to be any faster with EZ Baccarat, because the question of commission errors is already removed by the automated nature of the terminal game. But the players like that feeling of not seeing that commission being taken from their winning bets. If you think about it, I think that makes sense,” he added.

LT Game deal

On April 9, Canadian gaming supplier DEQ Systems Corp, the distributor of EZ Baccarat, announced a cross-border partnership with LT Game Ltd, chaired by Macau entrepreneur Jay Chun. Under it, EZ Baccarat will be available on LT Game’s Live Multi Game (LMG) systems worldwide. LT Game will also distribute the traditional live table game version of EZ Baccarat in Asia Pacific.

There is already a non-proprietary version of no-commission live table baccarat that casinos can get for free.

Super 6 – in some markets called Punto 2000 – works by halving the winning payout on a successful banker bet achieved with a score of six – a result that normally happens about five times a shoe. But Mr Powell says in that scenario the maths of the game is tweaked in such a way that the inbuilt house commission is pushed up to 5.88 percent – nearly 20 percent higher than with EZ Baccarat.

“The Super 6 version of the game has been very successful in Macau in the early years [following market liberalisation],” Mr Powell told us.

“We predict it’s going to be less successful as the players become repeat customers. Regular players eventually work out the game is winning money from them too quickly. Our game doesn’t do that, and our game is faster. With Super 6, because you have to pay half a bet, rather than just ‘pushing’ [barring payment] on a bet, it still slows the game down.”

EZ Baccarat bars the payout on a specific ‘banker’ bet winning result known as a ‘three-card seven’ – i.e., a bank winner with score of seven from three cards. Theoretically this result should occur about twice per shoe. The standard baccarat shoe normally contains eight decks of cards. By removing the payout on this particular bet, the mathematics of the game are ‘tweaked’ in such a way that a 5 percent commission system is built into the game and doesn’t need to be worked out for every winning banker hand.

To offset any player disappointment on the barred payout (also known as a ‘push’) on banker three-card seven, with EZ Baccarat there is the option of a proposition bet called the ‘Dragon 7’ that offers a 40 to 1 payout. That is stratospheric compared to the 8 to 1 payout available on a ‘tie’ result – the least common result of the three standard baccarat outcomes.

In Macau, EZ Baccarat’s live table game was launched at Wynn Macau in May 2009. EZ Baccarat is usually run in its live table, live dealer version in so-called ‘face up’ format. In that case the cards are dealt face up – not face down allowing the player to ‘squeeze’ them as occurs in the traditional Asian casino version. The face up method maximises the speed advantage of the game.

Baccarat maths

The theoretical house edge on baccarat – when calculated on a blended basis to account for the differing odds on ‘banker’, ‘player’ and ‘tie’ bets – is generally accepted to range from 1.26 percent to 1.35 percent when the commission rule is factored, according to an industry research paper by casino operations expert Andrew MacDonald and the late Bill Eadington, a former economics professor at the University of Nevada, Reno.

Another way to express house edge for baccarat is that for every HKD100 (US$12.90) bet (Hong Kong dollars being the currency used for most Macau casino games) the house will get to keep between HKD1.26 and HKD1.35.

By removing the need for commission calculation, the EZ Baccarat live dealer game claims to have far more hands per hour – between 50 percent and 70 percent more depending on a number of variables including the skill and training of the dealer – making the house management happier. The players are also happier, as commission errors are the most likely dealer mistake they face. The dealers are happier too as they are under lighter pressure than with the commission version, said Mr Powell.

He explained: “When we came to invent our game system, we were very clear that we wanted to be able to look the player straight in the eye and say ‘This is better for you than regular 5 percent commission baccarat.’”

Mr Powell also argues the EZ Baccarat game – whether in live dealer table form or live multi game form – offers fresh excitement for players because its proposition bet is integral to the game. Although Dragon 7 should statistically occur two times per shoe, it might not.

“The longer a game goes without a Dragon 7, the more excited players become, and the more money they bet on the Dragon 7,” Mr Powell told us.

Growth category

Live multi game – which is defined by Macau’s gaming regulator as a game category not unique to one manufacturer – was the only major casino game product category in Macau to show a year-on-year improvement in gross gaming revenue (GGR) in the first quarter of 2015.

The live multi game category produced 6.3 percent GGR growth in the first three months, from an admittedly modest base. Revenue from such products rose to MOP537 million (US$67.3 million), compared to MOP505 million in the year-prior period.

“One [Macau] operator said we have all these terminals from LT Game – we’d like to have EZ Baccarat on them. That was the genesis of the move to the LT Game Live Multi Game platform,” said Mr Powell.

“A lot of people say EZ Baccarat is a new game, like three-card poker. It’s not really a new game. It’s really a new operating system for the game of baccarat. That’s the way we look at it, and how we talk to our clients about it,” stated Robin Powell.

“It’s one of the few gaming floor creations where all the stakeholders like the result [the product]. By stakeholders I mean the casino, the players and the dealers – the people that actually do the work.”