了不起!「容易百家乐」使洛杉矶纸牌俱乐部越趋兴盛

了不起!「容易百家乐」使洛杉矶纸牌俱乐部越趋兴盛

此篇关于「容易百家乐」的文章是由David Haldane于2010年在《洛杉矶商业周刊》发表。

平日的午后,科默斯赌场内从前都是冷冷清清,甚至安静到连深受亚洲顾客喜爱的皇家芝华士酒杯内冰块的叮当声响都能听到。然而,上星期却发生了变化,赌桌座无虚席,淹没在一片欢呼声中。在博彩业的困顿期,一个热门游戏为洛杉矶州郡纸牌俱乐部带来了新景象。
这个游戏便是「容易百家乐」,传统百家乐游戏的一个新版本。百家乐是常见于拉斯维加斯娱乐场高投注区的经典纸牌游戏,豪赌玩家一手牌的投注额可高达数十万美元。在洛杉矶巿中心南部蓝领区的中型纸牌俱乐部内,投注额大多低于100美元,但该游戏却有着强大的吸引力:它节奏快;玩家无需支付娱乐场佣金;对幸运玩家而言,成功押中龙7还可获得40:1的赔率。
“这种游戏几乎覆盖了整个俱乐部,”该纸牌俱乐部的业务发展总监John Griffo指出。“我们相信它有无限的可能,并预料在未来三四年内,它会发展为仅次于扑克的游戏。”
这种说法并不夸大。一年前科默斯赌场内,「容易百家乐」只占四张赌桌,后来增加至27张,并计划于年底再加多13张。其受欢迎程度甚至促使娱乐场投资一百万美元进行翻新,包括部分场地的改造,及在中场为游戏开划出一个特定的博彩区。
此博彩游戏似乎越趋普及。这是由于科默斯赌场在郡内的一年独家合约于9月1日结束。现在,郡内其他七间俱乐部都可以提供「容易百家乐」,其中五间已经开始。仅过去一个月,郡内各个纸牌俱乐部已开设了至少26张新赌桌。
「容易百家乐」于几年前在亚洲推出,传统百家乐在亚洲非常盛行,在澳门这个华人博彩之都更是深受欢迎。它于2008年出现于美国,这似乎是一个非常恰当的时间,因为地区纸牌俱乐部正在尝试以各种促销手段来抵御博彩业务低迷的困境。
年初至今,科默斯赌场的博彩收益下降了9%。Gruff表示如没有这个新游戏的出现,这个数字还会显著升高。照现在的情况,博彩衰退的状况要比去年收益只下降约5%的拉斯维加斯娱乐场差。
为促进业务增长,本地俱乐部已改善餐饮、加强推广,甚至开始提供远距赛马投注。但其中最为有效的方法却是提供「容易百家乐」。很多本地玩家的族裔背景助长了此游戏的普及。
WhiteSand Gaming(办公室设于拉斯维加斯和新泽西州大西洋城)顾问James Nickerson表示:“我能预见「容易百家乐」将越来越重要,尤其是在亚洲人口密集的地区。吸引玩家光顾是重中之重,各娱乐场会各施手段。”

节奏加快
百家乐传统来讲是一个高注额游戏,拉斯维加斯娱乐场内的最低投注额常常设为25,000美元或者更高。相比之下,科默斯赌场内有两种赌桌,一种要求最低投注额10美元,另一种25美元。多数赌桌的最高限额为1,600美元。玩家可将筹码押注在“闲”、“庄”及“和”三个位置上。
接着庄荷分别为闲家和庄家各发三张牌。这些牌都有数值,总数值高者获胜。玩家也可押“和”,或押注赔率40:1的龙7(当庄家牌达到某个定值时即可获赔)。
这个版本相较于传统百家乐更加简易和快捷,因为在经过调整后的规则中,玩家基本无需做任何决定,游戏结果大致基于运气。
娱乐场和纸牌俱乐部欢迎这个游戏,不仅因为它的知名度,更因为它的速度能提升获利空间。举例来说,在科默斯赌场,一位动作快的庄荷能在每小时派发32手扑克(那里的支柱游戏),但同等时间内却能派发多达55手「容易百家乐」。
这种速度对加利福尼亚州纸牌俱乐部来说尤为重要。不像美国印第安人旗下的娱乐场,这些纸牌俱乐部禁止经营“与客对赌”的博彩游戏,例如二十一点(玩家输掉后娱乐场收走赌注)。
在科默斯赌场,顾客相互对赌,娱乐场会在每个10美元至100美元的投注(占多数)中收取1美元费用。更大的投注额相对收取的费用也更高。「容易百家乐」现时每月带来约两百万美元的收益,为该纸牌俱乐部收益的七分之一。
Griffo称:“这是我们利润最高的游戏,帮助我们度过了衰退期。”
Talisman集团(以拉斯维加斯为基地的咨询公司)与DEQ Systems Corp.(位于魁北克省里维斯巿的博彩公司)一起针对美国巿场而开发出此博彩游戏。在北美洲,67间娱乐场内设有约200张「容易百家乐」赌桌,其中在大西洋城和拉斯维加斯的赌桌已运作了两年多。2008年在拉斯维加斯举行的Raving’s Cutting Edge Table Game Conference中,「容易百家乐」被投选为“最佳新赌桌游戏”。
加利福尼亚州加迪纳巿Normandie娱乐场最近新添了四张「容易百家乐」赌桌,其博彩经理Daniel Nguyen表示:“它确实是现今非常流行的游戏,我们吸引了大量新客户光顾。”
其他提供此游戏的俱乐部包括,夏威夷花园市的夏威夷花园大赌场、英格尔伍德巿的好莱坞公园赌场、贝尔花园巿的龙凤大赌场,以及加迪纳巿的Hustler赌场等。
拥有加利福尼亚州经销权的21st Century Gaming公司总裁Moe Mostashari表示,加利福尼亚州的纸牌俱乐部已迅速接纳了这个新游戏。美国印第安人的娱乐场内亦增设了这个游戏。
拉斯维加斯《Casino Journal》编辑James Rutherford表示,有鉴于这个游戏最初版本的盛行程度,他对于「容易百家乐」在洛杉矶受欢迎并不感到惊讶。
“自从经济遭受打击后,(传统)百家乐几乎是唯一支撑拉斯维加斯大道收入的游戏,” 他说。“很多亚洲玩家和资金雄厚的投资者纷纷由澳门转往这里。将一个很受欢迎的游戏加以改良,令更多玩家能以更少的本钱参与,很具经济意义。”

激动的场面
科默斯赌场现计划加倍投资「容易百家乐」。未来四个月,他们将耗资四十万美元通过广告牌、赛事组织及赠品推广(例如T恤)加强宣传,亦会在位置优越的巴士候车站,以及在拥有中国、越南和韩国观众的电视频道置入广告。
Griffo滔滔不绝地说:“玩家都玩得很兴奋,有时甚至不愿坐下。”
在最近一个星期五的下午,一些座无虚席的赌桌吸引了大量围观者。每当有人投注龙7而胜出时,场上便会爆发出欢呼声。65岁的Ron Ansari说他已持续玩了三个月。
“我在互联网上看到这个游戏,找到之后,现在它已是我最钟爱的游戏,”一名住在大学城的退休电脑工程师称。“我很享受这个过程,但不会投注很多。”
另一名54岁自称叫Hare的玩家称他被游戏的简易性所吸引。“我目前大概打个平手,”他说及自己的投注习惯。“人人都说经济衰退,但在这里我却看不到任何衰退的痕迹。”

© 2010年《洛杉矶商业周刊》

Big Deal! Speedy take on baccarat boosts L.A. card clubs

For TBT we found this story about EZ Baccarat written in the Los Angeles Business Journal  in 2010 by David Haldane.

Weekday afternoons at the Commerce Casino used to be down time, quiet enough to hear ice tinkle in the glasses of Chivas Regal, popular with its Asian patrons. Last week, however, the story was different, with packed tables surrounded by crowds of cheering onlookers. Amid hard times in the gaming industry, there’s a hot game in town giving ailing Los Angeles County card clubs a kind of new deal.

It’s EZ Baccarat, a version of the classic card game usually played in cordoned-off corners of Las Vegas casinos where high rollers can bet hundreds of thousands of dollars on a single hand. At the more modest card club in the working-class city south of downtown Los Angeles, most bets are less than $100, but the game has strong attractions: It’s fast; players do not pay house commissions on winnings; and, for the lucky, a successful “dragon” bet pays off at 40-to-1.

“It has virtually taken over,” said John Griffo, the card club’s director of development. “We believe the sky is the limit. We can see this growing in the next three to four years only second to poker.”

That talk is not exaggeration. EZ Baccarat started out with just four tables a year ago at Commerce Casino but has since expanded to 27, with 13 more planned by the end of this year. The popularity of the game has even prompted the casino to give itself a $1 million facelift, including a remodel for parts of the club and the creation of a special section for the game in the middle of the gambling floor.

The game seems poised to become even more popular. That’s because Commerce Casino’s one year exclusive contract to offer the game in the county expired Sept. 1. Now, any of the county’s seven other clubs can offer it; five already have. In just the past month, at least 26 tables have opened at various card clubs across the county.

The game was first offered several years ago in Asia, a hot spot for traditional baccarat, and is reportedly very popular in the Chinese gambling capital of Macau. It hit U.S. shores in 2008, and appears to have arrived at just the right time for area card clubs, which have tried all sorts of promotions to combat a serious swoon in gambling during the recession.

Commerce Casino has experienced a 9 percent fall in revenue year to date – a figure that Gruff said would have been higher – “significantly” higher – without the new game. As it is, the decline has been worse than at Las Vegas casinos, where last year’s revenue decline was roughly 5 percent.

In order to boost their business, local clubs have upgraded menus, ramped up promotions and have even begun offering remote satellite wagering on horse racing. But few things have had the impact of EZ Baccarat. Fueling the popularity of the game here is the ethnic background of many local players.

“I could see EZ Baccarat becoming important, especially in areas with large Asian populations. It’s all about getting people in, and what works depends on the property,” said consultant James Nickerson, of WhiteSand Gaming, with offices in Las Vegas and Atlantic City, N.J.

Fast paced

Baccarat is traditionally a high-roller game, with minimum bets in Las Vegas casinos often set at $25,000 or more. By contrast, at the Commerce Casino, there are two sets of tables: one requiring minimum bets of $10 and the other $25. The maximum at most tables is $1,600. Players place bets by laying their chips in one of three positions called “player,” “bank” or “tie.”

Then the dealer draws two hands of three cards, one for “player” and the other for “banker.” The cards have numerical values, and the hand with the highest value wins. Players can bet on ties, or go for the 40-to-1 “dragon” bet, which pays off when the “bank” hand hits a certain numerical value.

This version of the game is simpler and faster than traditional baccarat, because the tweaked rules mean there is little decision-making by players, with results largely based on chance.

Casinos and card clubs like the game not only for its popularity but its quickness, which makes it more profitable. For example, at the Commerce Casino, a fast dealer can speed through 32 hands of poker, the club’s mainstay game, in one hour. But up to 55 hands of EZ Baccarat can be played in the same time period.

That speed is especially important to California card clubs, which, unlike American Indian-owned casinos, are prohibited from operating “house bank” games, such as black jack, in which casinos take winnings when players lose.

At the Commerce Casino, patrons bet against each other with the house collecting a $1 fee for every bet between $10 and $100, which accounts for most bets. Fees are higher for larger bets. EZ Baccarat is now bringing in about $2 million a month, one-seventh of the card club’s revenues.

“This is the most profitable game we have,” Griffo said. “It has helped us through the recession.”

The game was developed for the U.S. market by the Talisman Group, a Las Vegas-based consulting firm, in conjunction with DEQ Systems Corp., a Levis, Quebec, gaming company. In North America, there are about 200 EZ Baccarat tables at 67 casinos including ones in Atlantic City and Las Vegas, where it’s been offered for two years. At the 2008 Raving’s Cutting Edge Table Game Conference in Las Vegas, EZ Baccarat was voted best new table game.

“It’s really a popular game right now,” said Daniel Nguyen, the California game manager at Normandie Casino in Gardena, which recently added four EZ Baccarat tables. “We’re picking up lots of new customers coming in.”

Other clubs offering the game are the Hawaiian Gardens Casino in Hawaiian Gardens, Hollywood Park Casino in Inglewood, the Bicycle Club in Bell Gardens and the Hustler Casino in Gardena.

California card rooms have been very quick to adopt the new game, said Moe Mostashari, president of 21st Century Gaming, which has the California distribution rights. The game has also been added at American Indian casinos.

James Rutherford, editor of the Las Vegas-based Casino Journal, said he’s not surprised by the game’s popularity in Los Angeles given the original game’s popularity.

“(Traditional) baccarat has pretty much been carrying the Las Vegas Strip since the economy took a hit,” he said. “There are lots of Asian players and wealthy investors coming in from Macau.

Taking a game that popular and extending it to a larger audience by making it more affordable makes economic sense.”

Excitement on floor

Commerce Casino now plans to double down on the game. Over the next four months, it will spend about $400,000 promoting EZ Baccarat on billboards, organizing tournaments and giving away promotions such as T-shirts. It also will place ads in strategically located bus shelters and on ethnic-based TV stations with Chinese, Vietnamese and Korean viewers.

“There’s a buzz on the floor because of the excitement,” Griffo gushed. “Sometimes the players don’t even sit down.”

Indeed, on a recent Friday afternoon, some of the packed games drew roving crowds of onlookers. Each time someone won a dragon bet, the crowd erupted into cheers. Ron Ansari, 65, said he’s been playing for three months.

“I read about it on the Internet, went looking for it and now it’s my favorite game,” said the retired computer engineer who lives in Universal City. “I enjoy playing, but don’t bet very much.”

Another player, a 54-year-old player who referred to himself only as Hare, said he was attracted by the ease of play.

“I’ve broken even so far,” he said of his betting habits. “Everyone says there’s a recession, but I don’t see a recession here.”

© 2010 Los Angeles Business Journal